Office of the Governor

COMMISSION FOR HUMAN RIGHTS

800 A Street, Suite 204 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3669 Main: 907.274.4692 / 907.276.7474 TTY/TDD: 711 for Alaska Relay Fax: 907.278-8588





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Alaska State Commission for Human Rights Adopts Resolutions Regarding Disability Concerns, Public Accommodations, and Human Trafficking

September 1, 2023 (Anchorage, Alaska) – The Alaska State Commission for Human Rights held a busy meeting on Tuesday, August 22. The Commission heard and unanimously adopted five resolutions. Resolution 2023–04 reiterates the rights of people with disabilities to raise their children in parity with all other Alaskans. Resolution 2023–05 encourages the State of Alaska to procure a small number of braille printers to be made available to state agency offices when they need to print agency materials for braille literate Alaskans. Resolution 2023–06 encourages Alaska's Pioneer Homes to voluntarily retrofit its facilities to comply with the highest Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) regulations for the betterment of Alaskan elders. Resolution 2023–07 asks the Alaska Legislature to amend AS 18.80.230 to clarify the impact of the United States Supreme Court case *303 Creative, LLC v. Elenis* on issues of discrimination involving pure speech in Alaska. Resolution 2023–08 recognizes the disproportionate effects human trafficking can have on protected classes and advocates for state agencies to cooperate in their efforts to combat this atrocity. These resolutions can be found on the agency's website at https://humanrights.alaska.gov/public-notices/resolutions/.

The Commission is an independent quasi-judicial state agency that aims to eliminate discrimination and support Alaskans when they face discrimination in the workplace, places of public accommodation, housing, credit and financing, and government practices. The Commission consists of seven volunteers who are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature for rotating five-year terms. The Commission consists of Chairperson Zackary Gottshall (Anchorage), Vice Chairperson Mae Marsh (Fairbanks), William Craig (Sitka), Rebecca Carrillo (Juneau), Jessie Ruffridge (Soldotna), Lonzo Henderson (Anchorage), and Shiela Cernich (Anchorage).

Commission staff is available for assistance directly to the business community, either through speaking engagements to organizations, reviewing non-discrimination policies and procedures, and providing copies of its guidance documents, which are also available on its website: <u>https://humanrights.alaska.gov/human-rights-commission-annual-reports/</u>

For more information about the agency, please visit <u>https://humanrights.alaska.gov</u>. To talk about discrimination experiences directly to an investigator, call (800)-478-4692 or (907)-274-4692.